History of the Institute




The Kavala Institute of Technology was founded in 1976, and its current form is a result of many institutional reforms and changes. Originally, it was established as an Educational Centre for Vocational Studies. In 1983, it was recognised as an Institute of Technology. In 2001 it was upgraded to a Higher Educational Institute and since 2007 it is a University level institute. In its earlier (1976-1983) forms, the institute consisted of six departments, known today as the ‘Ancient Departments’.


These are: 1) the Department of Electrical Engineering, 2) the Department of Mechanical Engineering, 3) the Department of Petroleum Engineering, 4) the Department of Sciences, 5) the Department of Accounting, and 6) the Foreign Languages and Physical Education Centre. In 1983, the first four of these departments were allocated to the newly-formed School of Engineering Sciences and the remaining two, to the School of Business and Economics. In 1985 the first campus outside of Kavala was established in the nearby city of Drama; the Department of Forestry and Natural Environment Management was the first department that established there.


In 1986, the Department of Business Administration, was founded and integrated into the School of Business and Economics. During the period 1999-2007, the institute underwent an expansion with the creation of four more departments, known as the ‘New Departments’. Originally, these departments were financed by the European Union through the Operational Programme for Education and Initial Vocational Training. The departments are listed below in chronological order of their foundation: 1) the Department of Industrial Informatics (1999) and Information Management (2000) located in Kavala, the Department of Landscape Architecture (2003) located in Drama, the Department of Nursing (2007) located in Didymoteicho. Following the establishment of the Department of Landscape Architecture (2003) in Drama, a 3rd school, the School of Agricultural Technology was founded in the institute. In 2009, the Department of Oenology and Beverage Technology (third department in Drama) was founded and integrated into Drama branch.


The institute’s facilities were originally accommodated in different leased buildings around Kavala. In 1992 these facilities relocated to the new main campus in St. Loucas. Developed by Michaniki S.A., the campus buildings were assembled in an amphitheatre-style structure, overlooking the gulf of Kavala. The campus area is approximately 132,000 m2 with buildings covering an area of 36,000 m2. The Drama Campus is located in the area of Microchori, Drama. The Departments of Forestry and Natural Environment Management and Oenology and Beverage Technology, and the administration services, the Museum of Natural History, as well as the Botanical Gardens are located within the campus area of 100,000 m2 with buildings covering an area of 6,000 m2, while the Department of Landscape Architecture is located in the city of Drama, in facilities granted by the Prefecture of Drama. The Didymoteicho Campus is accommodated in the historic Primary School in the centre of Didymoteicho, located in the eastern part of the Evros Prefecture of Thrace.

With the exception of the departments of Oenology and Landscape Architecture (for which the issuing of a Presidential Decree is still pending) all other departments have statutory professional rights.

The Kavala Institute of Technology is ranked 8th among the 16 Institutes of Technology and 25th among 50 ΑΕΙs and Colleges throughout Greece. Globally, it is ranked in the first third (1/3) (3,744) of the world’s top 12,000 Universities as determined according to the indexes of the Cybermetrics Lab, which are based on the production and publication of scientific knowledge.

Educational duties in TEI of Kavala are carried out by the members of the permanent academic staff, which are hierarchically ordered as follows: a) Professor, b) Associate Professor, c) Assistant Professor, and d) Lecturer. The members of academic staff cooperate with temporary staff such as Scientific and Laboratory Associates, Laboratory Technicians, and Administrative Staff. This “mixed” system (i.e. permanent/temporary staff) is common in Greek Institutes of Technology and derives from the French model of grandes écoles.